King named superintendent


On July 23, a special called meeting of the Fayette County School Board was held for the purpose of interviewing and selecting a new Director of Schools in Fayette County. Marlon D. King and Debra L. Jones were selected from a field of five potential candidates for follow up question and answer session with the School Board. After both answered questions and gave brief descriptions of their vision of the future for Fayette County Schools, King was selected as the new Director of Fayette County Schools. ABOVE: From left are candidates for the position of Director of Fayette County Schools, Lowell Winston, LaReace V. Boldon, Debra L. Jones, Walter B. Owens and King. King was previously superintendent of Haywood County Schools. Former school director James Teague had his contract terminated at a July 2 special called School Board meeting.